Municipal

Driving While Suspended

Picture this: You are driving your car when you get stopped for a minor traffic violation. You present your license and are shocked to learn from the police officer that your license was suspended, or worse, revoked.

Driver’s licenses in New Jersey are suspended by the Motor Vehicle Commission under the following circumstances:

  • Suspension as part of the terms of a sentence.
  • Suspension as part of punitive action where the court believes that the underlying traffic offense was willfully committed.
  • Suspension on administrative basis as encouragement for an individual to take action instead of punitive action.
  • Suspension following motor vehicle surcharges that are past due.
  • Suspension for confirmation of the licensee’s vehicle’s liability insurance cover.
  • Suspension to trigger resolution of a vehicle ticket in a different state where the NJ licensee did not appear.
  • Driving while suspended

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License

There are severe penalties for driving on a suspended license, and if you have been charged, it is important to have the backing of a knowledgeable and experienced defense attorney to fight it.

Usually, first-time offenders get a fine of $500 with an additional suspension of up to 180 days. Where the underlying suspension was as a result of a parking ticket, the first-time offender stands a chance to avoid some of the sanctions that would otherwise be imposed.

For second-time offenders, driving with a suspended license incurs a $750 fine, further suspended time of up to 180 days and a jail-term of 1 – 5 days. Subsequent offenders are looking at $1,000 fines, a 10-day long jail term and additional suspension of up to six months.

Suspended License and DUI

You should note that a driver’s license suspension whose underlying cause is a serious violation like a DUI will attract severe sentences when charged. These enhanced sentences are applicable to New Jersey drivers whose licenses were suspended following convictions for breathalyzer test refusal, DUI/DWI convictions and/or conviction for driving without insurance coverage.

If any of the above applies to an accused person, they may be looking at a loss of their driver’s license for 1 – 2 years, fines well over $1,000 and a jail term as long as 90 days.

Driving Record Points

In the state of New Jersey, your license will be suspended if you accumulate 12 points or more on your driver’s license. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission adds points on your driving record for both major and minor traffic violations; major violations have higher points.

Moving violations and traffic tickets are assessed by the MVC, and the result can be a surcharge or suspension once the state limit is reached. Parking tickets, however, do not assign points on your driving record. The MVC has a value system dependent on the gravity of the offense.

Traffic Ticket Defense

If you have been accused of driving with a suspended license, or any other traffic violation, it is critical to have experienced defense attorneys fight by your side. At Zapicchi & Liller, we have an experienced and knowledgeable traffic violation defense team. We are available and happy to schedule a consultation to go over your case.

Driving While Suspended

Picture this: You are driving your car when you get stopped for a minor traffic violation. You present your license and are shocked to learn from the police officer that your license was suspended, or worse, revoked.

Driver’s licenses in New Jersey are suspended by the Motor Vehicle Commission under the following circumstances:

  • Suspension as part of the terms of a sentence.
  • Suspension as part of punitive action where the court believes that the underlying traffic offense was willfully committed.
  • Suspension on administrative basis as encouragement for an individual to take action instead of punitive action.
  • Suspension following motor vehicle surcharges that are past due.
  • Suspension for confirmation of the licensee’s vehicle’s liability insurance cover.
  • Suspension to trigger resolution of a vehicle ticket in a different state where the NJ licensee did not appear.
  • Driving while suspended
A client discussing contracts with our municipal court lawyers near Hamilton Township

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License

There are severe penalties for driving on a suspended license, and if you have been charged, it is important to have the backing of a knowledgeable and experienced defense attorney to fight it.

Usually, first-time offenders get a fine of $500 with an additional suspension of up to 180 days. Where the underlying suspension was as a result of a parking ticket, the first-time offender stands a chance to avoid some of the sanctions that would otherwise be imposed.

For second-time offenders, driving with a suspended license incurs a $750 fine, further suspended time of up to 180 days and a jail-term of 1 – 5 days. Subsequent offenders are looking at $1,000 fines, a 10-day long jail term and additional suspension of up to six months.

Suspended License and DUI

You should note that a driver’s license suspension whose underlying cause is a serious violation like a DUI will attract severe sentences when charged. These enhanced sentences are applicable to New Jersey drivers whose licenses were suspended following convictions for breathalyzer test refusal, DUI/DWI convictions and/or conviction for driving without insurance coverage.

If any of the above applies to an accused person, they may be looking at a loss of their driver’s license for 1 – 2 years, fines well over $1,000 and a jail term as long as 90 days.

Driving Record Points

In the state of New Jersey, your license will be suspended if you accumulate 12 points or more on your driver’s license. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission adds points on your driving record for both major and minor traffic violations; major violations have higher points.

Moving violations and traffic tickets are assessed by the MVC, and the result can be a surcharge or suspension once the state limit is reached. Parking tickets, however, do not assign points on your driving record. The MVC has a value system dependent on the gravity of the offense.

Traffic Ticket Defense

If you have been accused of driving with a suspended license, or any other traffic violation, it is critical to have experienced defense attorneys fight by your side. At Zapicchi & Liller, we have an experienced and knowledgeable traffic violation defense team. We are available and happy to schedule a consultation to go over your case.

Unlicensed Driver

It is a traffic violation to drive on a public highway in New Jersey without a valid driver’s license or a validated permit, except where the driver is taking part in a driver’s training course and has the supervision of a licensed driver.

Under N.J.S.A 39:3-10, the statute applicable to unlicensed drivers in New Jersey, driving without a license outside the provisions built in the article can earn a person hefty fines and/or a jail sentence as high as 60 days.

Driving Without a License Charge

If you have been served with traffic summons, a ticket or a criminal charge relating to driving without a license, or any other kind of traffic infraction, do not hesitate to contact your traffic violations defense attorneys at Zapicchi & Liller.

With thousands of traffic-related cases spread over more than 20 years of collective experience, we offer you a great chance of dismissing the case, or getting a reduced penalty that will not severely affect your life.

We study your cases as early as possible to maximize your chances of a successful defense. Do not make any statements or talk to anyone before you have met with an attorney.

Penalty for Driving Without a License

Persons who violate N.J.S.A 39:3-10 are looking at the following penalties and fines under the statute:

  • Up to 60 days mandatory jail time
  • A fine of up to $500
  • An annual surcharge of $100 for three years
  • The above mentioned penalties are applicable to individuals who are currently unlicensed, but possessed one at some point in the past i.e. those who had their license revoked for any reason.

If the driver has never had a license (that is, juvenile drivers), the penalties include a fine of no less than $200 as well as an injunction preventing them from applying for a driver’s license for up to 6 months (180 days) from their due date of eligibility.

Unlicensed Driving Defenses

Notice that the penalties provided for violations of section 39:3-10 are dependent on whether the accused person previously had a license before the time of offense, or had never had a license at all.

Usually, the former occurs if a person has relocated from another state to New Jersey, and has yet to obtain a valid New Jersey license because there is an obstruction with their driver’s license from the state they were residing in.

In this case, a possible line of defense for the charge/ticket might prove that the impediment in their previous state was mistaken, and that the accused person did not have any reason to know such a problem existed.

In addition, where the individual has never had a license before, a line of defense may be to state that the unlicensed driver was at the time participating in a behind-the-wheel driving course and was under the appropriate supervision at the time of the violation.

New Jersey Traffic Attorney

Even minor traffic violations can be a cause for stress and have a negative impact on your future life. Contact your able attorneys at Zapicchi & Liller to ensure you have a chance at a successful resolution.

Unlicensed Driver

It is a traffic violation to drive on a public highway in New Jersey without a valid driver’s license or a validated permit, except where the driver is taking part in a driver’s training course and has the supervision of a licensed driver.

Under N.J.S.A 39:3-10, the statute applicable to unlicensed drivers in New Jersey, driving without a license outside the provisions built in the article can earn a person hefty fines and/or a jail sentence as high as 60 days.

Driving Without a License Charge

If you have been served with traffic summons, a ticket or a criminal charge relating to driving without a license, or any other kind of traffic infraction, do not hesitate to contact your traffic violations defense attorneys at Zapicchi & Liller.

With thousands of traffic-related cases spread over more than 20 years of collective experience, we offer you a great chance of dismissing the case, or getting a reduced penalty that will not severely affect your life.

We study your cases as early as possible to maximize your chances of a successful defense. Do not make any statements or talk to anyone before you have met with an attorney.

Penalty for Driving Without a License

Persons who violate N.J.S.A 39:3-10 are looking at the following penalties and fines under the statute:

  • Up to 60 days mandatory jail time
  • A fine of up to $500
  • An annual surcharge of $100 for three years
  • The above mentioned penalties are applicable to individuals who are currently unlicensed, but possessed one at some point in the past i.e. those who had their license revoked for any reason.

If the driver has never had a license (that is, juvenile drivers), the penalties include a fine of no less than $200 as well as an injunction preventing them from applying for a driver’s license for up to 6 months (180 days) from their due date of eligibility.

Unlicensed Driving Defenses

Notice that the penalties provided for violations of section 39:3-10 are dependent on whether the accused person previously had a license before the time of offense, or had never had a license at all.

Usually, the former occurs if a person has relocated from another state to New Jersey, and has yet to obtain a valid New Jersey license because there is an obstruction with their driver’s license from the state they were residing in.

In this case, a possible line of defense for the charge/ticket might prove that the impediment in their previous state was mistaken, and that the accused person did not have any reason to know such a problem existed.

In addition, where the individual has never had a license before, a line of defense may be to state that the unlicensed driver was at the time participating in a behind-the-wheel driving course and was under the appropriate supervision at the time of the violation.

New Jersey Traffic Attorney

Even minor traffic violations can be a cause for stress and have a negative impact on your future life. Contact your able attorneys at Zapicchi & Liller to ensure you have a chance at a successful resolution.

Driving Without Insurance

The law applicable to the offense of driving without insurance in New Jersey is found in N.J.S.A. 39:6B, which requires that every registered owner of a vehicle registered or operating principally within the state have liability insurance which covers liability for death, property damage or personal injury.

Drivers that don’t have such insurance are placing themselves at risk of getting a ‘Driving without Insurance’ ticket, which carries severe penalties.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

Being an uninsured motorist is amongst serious traffic infraction in the state of New Jersey. For first-time offenders, the punishment is a required year-long license suspension, a fine of $300 – $1,000 and community service.

Second-time and subsequent offenses carry even more serious penalties, which include a jail term for 14 days or more, two years suspended license, a fine as high as $5,000, and at least thirty days community service.

Following a repeat offense, a driver so convicted will be required to complete a new application to the state’s Director of the Motor Vehicle Commission to receive a license to operate a motor vehicle. This request may be denied or granted at the Director’s discretion. This means that repeat offenders risk permanent loss of their driver’s license.

In addition, driving without insurance attracts a surcharge of $250 for a period of three years ($750 total). On top of that, they will have points added to their driving record, which results in higher insurance points and eventually elevated insurance premiums.

Permitting Another to Drive Without Insurance

The New Jersey statute applicable to driving without insurance also provides for prosecution of a person who lets another person drive a vehicle without insurance, having or required to have had knowledge of the same.

The penalties stated above are applicable to the non-driver that lets another drive without insurance. However, the prosecution will have to prove that the vehicle’s registered owner knew or should have known that their vehicle was not insured. In the right circumstances (such as the absence of previous traffic records), the defense attorneys can negotiate a plea agreement in which this ticket may be dismissed.

Driving Without Insurance Defense

If you have been accused of driving without insurance, contact Zapicchi & Liller for professional assistance

Given the severity that the penalty carries, you need to have a legal team dedicated to fighting to secure the best possible outcome.

At Zapicchi & Liller, we have an experienced legal team skilled in the negotiation of plea agreements to offer dismissal and hence prevent your license from being suspended. We have litigated a vast array of traffic-related offenses, and we know the inner workings of the law and justice system, giving you a chance at a favorable outcome.

Trusted Defense Against a Wide Range of Criminal Allegations

  • Insurance Fraud

  • Drug Crimes

  • Juvenile Crimes

  • Obstruction of Justice

  • Violent Crimes

  • Shoplifting

  • Weapon Possession
  • Burglary

  • Disorderly Conduct

  • Drug Charges

  • Sex Crimes

  • Indentity Theft

  • Resisting Arrest

Trusted Defense Against a Wide Range of Criminal Allegations

  • Burglary

  • Disorderly Conduct

  • Drug Charges

  • Sex Crimes
  • Identity Theft

  • Insurance Fraud

  • Drug Crimes

  • Juvenile Crimes

  • Obstruction of Justice

  • Violent Crimes

Trusted Defense Against a Wide Range of Criminal Allegations

  • Burglary

  • Disorderly Conduct

  • Criminal Defense Law
  • Drug Charges

  • Family Law and Divorce

  • Sex Crimes
  • Identity Theft

  • Insurance Fraud

  • Drug Crimes

  • Juvenile Crimes

  • Obstruction of Justice

  • Violent Crimes

  • Resisting Arrest

  • Shoplifting

  • Weapon Possession
  • Our Legal Team is Here for You

    See What Our Clients Say